The Music Exchange II – Patrick vs. Joey

Following the fun I had with the first Music Exchange, and the positive response I got, I’ve decided to have another go with another friend of mine. Guesting with me on the blog this time is my good friend Joey, and each of us have chosen 5 songs and sent them to each other. We listened to them, and then wrote reviews of each other’s songs saying what we thought. Here they are, then – Joey’s reviews of my songs are in blue, whilst my reviews of her songs are red. Also, there’s a Spotify playlist at the bottom of this blog if you want to listen along.

Latch – Disclosure

This genre isn’t exactly my thing, but if I left every review at that then nothing would get done. So I went into this trying to be optimistic…and it worked pretty well, actually. I wasn’t a huge fan of the chorus, nor the three syllables of female vocals they managed to pull from somewhere and repeat ad infinitum. Other than that though, I was fine with it. It could be much worse.

Young and Lovely – Jherek Bischoff

I kind of imagined a white guy in a suit doing the Carlton dance all the way through and I think this is a good thing. I liked how the mood slightly changes around a minute and a half of the way through, but it doesn’t really blend well with the rest of the song.

Middle of the Bed – Lucy Rose

Very different from the one before; this is slightly more solid ground for me. I didn’t think Lucy Rose’s voice was anything remarkable, but the actual music impressed me more – a neat little mishmash of sounds that run like clockwork. Preferred the first half to the second, but I liked it overall.

Girl Anachronism – The Dresden Dolls

At the start of the song I was like ugh but then SUDDENLY PIANO. I’m kind of getting a theatrical vibe, but minus the middle aged women in the audience clapping along. This isn’t the kind of music I would usually listen to but I actually quite like this, especially the violent piano parts.

This Charming Man – The Smiths

The Smiths is a well-known name, obviously, but in my teenage ignorance I don’t think I could name a song I’ve heard by them. However, This Charming Man hooked me from the beginning. It’s a weird feeling, listening to such an old sound (relatively) but for the first time, having already heard the influence it’s had on everything else. Like living backwards. Regardless, a classic. If anyone wants to suggest me a starting point for The Smiths, please comment below.

Want it Back – Amanda Palmer

It was okay. Wasn’t a bad song, but wasn’t an interesting song. Apart from her voice (I’m a fan of females with lower voices) nothing really stood out.

Toxic – Yael Naim

A very minimal cover of the Britney Spears song. I enjoyed it, mainly because of the very original composition, and this weird texture to it, and Yael Naim’s voice is pretty good too. My problem with it is the lyrics; I guess it’s supposed to be a jarring experience considering the original song, but for me it doesn’t quite work. I liked it listening to it once, but I don’t think it would hold up to multiple listens. Also, should’ve ended about ten seconds earlier.

Michael Myers Resplendent – The Mountain Goats

I was expecting it to be building up to something but it really wasn’t. It was basically a slow song with a few heavy metal style drums for about 10 seconds, which was the good part. I was half-preparing for screamo to start but I was okay and my ears are not bleeding. I’m not sure what was going on at the end; it kind of sounded like he was making fun of someone which made me laugh but I don’t think that was the desired effect.

From the Ritz To The Rubble – Arctic Monkeys

I know the Arctic Monkeys, of course, but the name of the song was alien to me. This song is your standard AM fare – you definitely know what to expect – but that doesn’t make it any less enjoyable. It was catchy and fun, with sharp lyrics and awesome guitar. If I knew it better (and maybe, after this, I will) it’s definitely the sort of thing I’d sing along to. Good work, Joey.

A Day in the Life – The Beatles

It sounds like such a white girl thing to say but OMG ILUV DA BEATLES<<£<£££££3333<££<. This song reminds me of car journeys. It’s really hard to review a Beatles song, because it’s a Beatles song and so I leave you with the fact that while listening I found myself swaying along.

And here are our rankings:

Joey

1) Girl Anachronism – The Dresden Dolls
2) Young and Lovely – Jherek Bischoff
3) A Day in the Life – The Beatles
4) Want it Back – Amanda Palmer
5) Michael Myers Resplendent – The Mountain

Patrick

1) This Charming Man – The Smiths
2) 
From The Ritz To The Rubble – Arctic Monkeys
3) Toxic – Yael Naim
4) Middle of the Bed –  Lucy Rose
5) Latch – Disclosure

And that’s that! Thank you to Joey for playing, and if anyone wants to have a go too you can let me know via the details on my Contact page. See you next time!

Spotify playlist (minus A Day In The Life, because the Beatles aren’t on Spotify):

2 thoughts on “The Music Exchange II – Patrick vs. Joey

  1. Ask Mum what my favourite Smiths song is. She’ll know. If she doesn’t I’ll be really upset haha. I love The Smiths.

    How can you be my brother and not be able to sing along to the entire Arctic Monkeys discography. Disgraceful. I love the Arctic Monkeys.

Comments

