Three Christmas Presents

One: Post-Christmas Traditions (i wrote this last year on 27th December, as part of another blogging project, but I don’t think most of you will have seen it. It still very much applies)

I thought I’d write a blog today on the topic of my two days after Christmas which have, in the past, been just as important to me as the actual day.

On the morning of the 26th, after eating the regulation Ton Of Chocolate, my family all pack into the car and head down to Amersham, where my aunt, uncle and cousins live. The reason we spend the day there is that my cousin has her birthday on Boxing Day itself. Thus, the whole family meet there (they also, by coincidence or otherwise, have the biggest house) and we party and open each other’s presents and have a huge lunch and it’s just like a second Christmas. Plus, I love my cousins, who are always wonderfully hyperactive to be around. Many a game of hide and seek has been played in that house.

Then, we stay over, because on the 27th my sister has her birthday! We have taken advantage of the lovely coincidence to then celebrate EVEN MORE, and head back home after lunch.

We didn’t do that this year.

I actually visited my cousins last Friday, which was great as ever, but we didn’t stay over. My sister is away, in China, teaching English. She’s been there since September, and isn’t likely to be coming back home for a little while. That means there was no need to go on Boxing Day, since we wouldn’t have got there in time with no need to stay over. So for the first time in a long time, I am not at my cousin’s house this morning, celebrating my sister’s birthday- twenty-one today, and in a faraway land.

I miss her a lot.

Happy Birthday, Ellen.

Two: Australian Christmas Song (just a dumb thing my brother and I thought up this evening)

Oh, the weather outside is pleasant,
and the fire’s not incandescent,
the sun is out lookin’ fine,
let it shine, let it shine, let it shine…

Three:  My Top Five Christmas Songs (tell me yours in the comments!)

5. Blue Christmas by Elvis Presley (Yeah, it’s kind of depressing, but it always makes me think of the wedding dance song from the musical “Gutted”, which makes me laugh a lot. Also, Elvis.)

4. Wonderful Christmas Time by Paul McCartney (I guess if you’re thinking about it logically, it’s actually an awful song, but I love it anyway.)

3. Last Christmas by Wham! (Waay too catchy, far too easy to sing along too. Exactly what you want from a Christmas song)

2. Fairytale of New York by The Pogues feat. Kirsty MacColl (Up until relatively recently this anti-Christmas anthem was the best thing to sing along to, ever. Also the only justification for ever saying the word “faggot”, because it totally works in context. Have I talked about context before?)

1. White Wine In The Sun by Tim Minchin (The ultimate song for the secular Christmas lover. Funny, accurate and the most sentimental a song has ever been without making you want to cringe at it. Perfection. Listen now, if you haven’t already.)

Merry Christmas, you lot. Have a good ‘un.

One thought on “Three Christmas Presents

Comments

